Mother = a Person AND a Beverage

I developed a slight obsession with kombucha a couple years ago. I’m a sucker for new foods, so, despite the fact that kombucha has funky little floaty things in it, I tried it.

And I liked it. A lot.

Seriously, who wouldn’t like fermented tea with floaters?! It sounds nearly as good as chocolate cake with ice cream. Or strawberries and whipped cream.

The only problem with kombucha is the price. It’s expensive. Like $3-4 a bottle expensive.

So — I convince my friend Angie to do a little kombucha brewing with me. Since Angie lives in San Antonio, this is a bit of a long-distance experiment.

The first step in the brewing process was ordering mothers (aka scobys). The mother/scoby is the heart of the fermentation process (I think). Scoby is an acronym for symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast. How fun is that?!

This is what my mother(s) look like:

The one on the left is my kombucha mother. The one on the right is my human mother. (My human mother doesn’t like having her picture taken, so this picture is from Christmas. My kombucha mother LOVED having her (his? its?) picture taken.)

My human mother’s name is D Ann. I don’t think she aids in any fermentation processes. (It’s ok. She does a lot of other cool stuff.)

My kombucha mother doesn’t have a name yet. We’re still getting to know each other. Angie suggested a few completely fabulous names such as (1) Teresa (get it?); (2) Yo’ as in *”Yo Mama’s so symbiotic she’s a colony of bacteria and yeast! Aww snap;” or (3) Scoby Doo.

This is where my kombucha mother will live:

Kombucha mom will hang out in here for 7-30 days. Then, I’ll drink her. I offered John the position of “official taste tester.” I figured I’d let him take the first drink and wait a few hours before I tried the stuff.** Shockingly, he didn’t flip at this opportunity and suggested doing a little research beforeanyonesamples my mother’s creation.

My human mother makes good food. Let’s hope my kombucha mother has similar skills.

* direct quote from Angie — sheer brilliance

** just kidding — I would be very sad if John died of kombucha poisoning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother = a Person AND a Beverage

  1. D Ann Jontz says:

    I just want it to be known that your human mother has never actually poisened anyone with her food. (There was the quiche incident which your dad has never forgotten, but he’s still alive to tell about it) My advice would be to stick with human mother food and be very carefull of kombucha mother food.

Leave a Reply

