EMOF: Day 29!

Exciting Moments of February, Day 29

Today’s exciting moment can be summed up in two words:  LEAP DAY.

Leap Day is Daylight Saving Time multiplied by 1 gazillion — it’s a whole EXTRA DAY!

I stuck to the true spirit of the day and accomplished some EXTRA stuff.

I purchased a fire EXtinguisher. Those noxious oven smells on Day 28 had a slight electrical stench, so a repair person has been contacted. I probably should have purchased a fire extinguisher 4 1/2 years ago when I moved into my little house, but I always chose to spend my money on t-shirts with random phrases that are inappropriate for work. Tonight I made a responsible, adult-like purchase, and I’m prepared to fight fires in my house.

I told my mom I was thinking about spraying it on the trees in my yard while screaming, “only I can prevent forest fires! only I can prevent forest fires!” [No worries, Mom. I didn’t do that, for fear the neighbors would get together and sign commitment papers. Then you’d either have to assist with my un-commitment or side with the neighbors. I can’t really say which choice would be better.]

I took my flame-retardant pajamas out of the rotation tonight. Life with a fire extinguisher is good.

The broccoli is also very excited about the added home fire protection.

Other extra tasks accomplished on this extra day include:  purchasing an extra item for Carolyn’s care package and replacing the brake light in my little Hyundai. (Guess what I got when I purchased one brake light bulb?? — An EXTRA bulb!) Plus, the employee at the auto parts store was EXTRA helpful and replaced the light bulb for me! (What I lack in automotive skills, I make up for in annoying charm.)

Now, I must get some EXTRA sleep. Or, maybe I’ll wash the dishes and get them EXTRA clean. Either way, it’s been a good month.

I shall leap toward March. That’ll be a good month, too. Although most green beers are not very tasty, the idea of green beer excites me a lot.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to EMOF: Day 29!

  1. Meredith says:

    In addition to the broccoli, the other PERSON that lives with you is excited abou t the added home protection as well.

Leave a Reply

