EMOF: Day 22

Exciting Moments of February, Day 22

Meredith has hosted an Oscar party for several years, and the gathering has inspired me to watch as many of the best picture nominees as possible. Last year I saw ’em all. I’ve seen 8 of the 10 nominees this year.

The Tree of Life seemed to be the crazy uncle in the best picture family tree of life. Netflix didn’t recommend it. Redbox didn’t recommend it.  So, I wanted to see it.

I like underdogs.

So, I ignored the 1 1/2 star rating from Redbox, and I decided to watch the movie. I tried to get through the film a couple nights ago, but I fell asleep during a very long scene depicting the creation of the Earth (and ending with a little spat between two dinosaurs). I didn’t really know how much of the movie I’d missed until a co-worker asked me what I thought of Brad Pitt. My response:  “Oh. Is Brad Pitt in the movie?”

Yeah. He kind of stars in it.

And, round two of The Tree of Life was much more successful. I got past the creation montage and tried to understand why a movie about a father/son relationship in the 1950s involves a dinosaur spat. And I kind of liked the movie.

It moved me. Not a lot….but it moved me a little.

So, I think the moral of this story is:  You may think you’re not going to like something because others have not liked it. You may not even like it the first time you try it because it puts you to sleep and confuses the crap out of you. But, you may like it the second time.

I feel the same way about beans. Except they didn’t confuse the crap out of me. They did other things. But, I was passionately against them for many years, and I now love them. All kinds!

So, go try something that no one else likes. Go try something that you don’t even like.

You might surprise yourself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to EMOF: Day 22

  1. D Ann Jontz says:

    I think you already learned this lesson. I think you learned it in first grade. I’m glad you learned it again though.

  2. Carolyn says:

    You DID hate beans! I like that reminder to keep trying things you don’t think you like because maybe someday you will…maybe I should try yoga…again…

Leave a Reply

