EMOF: Day 13

Exciting Moments of February, Day 13

I guess not every day can have an extremely exciting moment. Today, tragedy struck — twice.

1) I forgot to put the coffee filter in my coffee pot.

Let’s just say there were a lot of coffee grounds. And I drank it until it became more of a solid than a liquid. I refuse to bust out silverware to drink my morning coffee. A girl’s gotta have standards.

2) My childhood Target is REMODELING!

I’m still pretty distraught about this. I love Target. Especially this one. It’s the Target I was born in — ok, I wasn’t really born in the Target, but my momma taught me the joys of shopping at Target at a very young age.

Other things changed. My parents moved out of my childhood home. Grandma D. moved into an apartment.

All I had left of my childhood was Grandma J.’s house and the Valley West Target. These places still looked the same. They were familiar. Like an old fuzzy blanket or a freshly blanched Brussels sprout. Cozy.

Now, my Target is being torn up and there’s a sign advertising fresh groceries.

I don’t want fresh groceries at my Target. If I want fresh groceries, I’ll go across the street to Hy-Vee. I was fine with packaged snacks.

I knew my way around the old Target. I knew exactly where the stuff I bought was. Now, the groceries are where the electronic used to be, and the electronics are where the toys used to be.

It’s the end of an era.

I think I can adjust.

I just hope Grandma J. doesn’t decide to expand her house to make room for additional home decor and grocery shelves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to EMOF: Day 13

  1. Meredith says:

    I feel pretty confident that Grandma J won’t let you down. If it ain’t broke (after 90 years), don’t fix it.

Leave a Reply

