A Sign, A Cowbell, A Half-Marathon, And Apples

I ran the Des Moines 1/2 Marathon on Sunday. It was a bit of a comeback, since my right knee kind of imploded after last year’s Des Moines Marathon. Apparently, my knee didn’t want to run two marathons last year. Silly knee.

My knee held up quite nicely on Sunday, and I made it to the finish line without any knee pain. I think I’ll give the credit to the $15 knee band I purchased in Minneapolis. It probably had magic healing powers.

John appeared around mile 9 with a super-great-two-sided-spray-painted sign.

Side #1:

Side #2:

Side #2 refers to a joke involving John singing and dancing in his kitchen while adding milk and half and half to his coffee. (I didn’t read the sign correctly when I ran by it, but I laughed at it post-race.)

Many marathon cheerers brought little cowbells. John brought a giant, quality cowbell from his stash of band equipment. He attempted to cheer for me again around mile 10, but I beat him to the mile marker. This means I didn’t get the pleasure of listening to his cowbell song. I got an encore performance post-race, and I’m sure other runners jammed to the cowbell. Heck, a few cows may have traveled in from the country to finish the race.

After the race, I ate a giant burrito. Then John and I traveled to Willis Family Orchard near Adel for apples, pumpkins, and gourds!

Some of the gourds could have passed for apples:

And one of the pumpkins wasn’t that happy to see us (the other pumpkins were very attractive — this little punk was the exception!):

Finally, we hung out with the scarecrows. They were nice and let us try on their hats. Scarecrows are thoughtful like that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Sign, A Cowbell, A Half-Marathon, And Apples

  1. Meredith says:

    I love the spray-painted sign! They actually outlawed cowbells at swim meets because they were getting out of hand….You couldn’t hear me, but I was cheering in DC!

  2. Carolyn says:

    I love that the two of you are in similarly slouchy positions while sporting the tin-man cap! 🙂

Leave a Reply

