Let’s Grow Stuff!

Yes, let’s!

It’ll be fun.

My current “urban farm diversification projects” involve growing oyster mushrooms and bean sprouts.

It’s actually my second attempt at the oyster mushrooms. Harvest #1 didn’t really turn out as expected. I blame the urban farmer. She didn’t set the box in the upright position — apparently, the mushroom spores thought they should be sleeping instead of growing.

According to my handy-dandy box instructions, I’m supposed to get a second harvest out of the other side of the package. I should have up to 1 1/2 pounds of mushrooms in 10 days. I’m cautiously optimistic.

Here’s the current state of my mushroom-growing operation:

Note the “fun for kids” claim on the box. If round #2 doesn’t go well, I’m going to discourage small children from attempting this. It’s not fun — it’s depressing. Instead of encouraging small children to grow their own food, it teaches the life lessons of failure and perseverance. While valuable, I wouldn’t really classify those lessons as fun.

Also, note my attitude about these mushrooms could change dramatically if the darn things actually produce edible mushrooms. Round #1 produced one large mushroom that was a little tough to chew. I ate it, but it was a mushroom only the grower could love. Others would scoff at it.

My second “urban farm diversification project” is sprouting beans. First bean:  the mung.

I had to swipe Mason jars from my grandma for this project. She’s nice like that. She also baked zucchini bread for me yesterday. One of the ingredients in her zucchini bread is grandma love. The result is the best zucchini bread ever.

My mungs soaked in a little bean bath yesterday. Today, I’ll rinse and soak. I’ll repeat this process for the next 3-4 days and may wind up with happy little sprouted mungs.

Here’s a picture of my soaking mungs. Don’t they look relaxed?

Finally, I present to you —

MY FIRST FULL-SIZE TOMATO OF THE SEASON!

Oh, the beauty! I nearly wept when I picked the little fella off the vine. Hopefully, there will be many, many more full-size tomato friends. I’d like to spend the rest of August stuffing myself with tomatoes and basil. And watermelon.

Now, I shall attempt to stalk a friend’s new house during a run. The house looks absolutely adorable from pictures, and I’m excited to see it in person. Plus, the address is Pleasant Street! That’s pretty much the best street name ever.

I emailed the homeowners and promised to be a friendly stalker.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s Grow Stuff!

  1. Meredith says:

    There’s a town Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin. I always thought that sounded cheerful.

    Congrats on the tomato! I’m sure no tomato was ever more appreciated as it was consumed.

  2. Angie says:

    Congratulations on your tomato! I am super curious about the bean sprouts. Specifically I would like to know about the smell as they are sprouting. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNee4tTrbZw

Leave a Reply

