Ode to Sprouts

Oh, Brussels sprouts. How I love thee.

I’m a sprouts evangelist. If co-workers are sick, I tell them they should eat more sprouts. I also stink up the office when I microwave my sprouts. (I like to think it’s endearing.)

So, it’s not surprising that a co-worker thought of me when he saw this in the grocery store:

I was thrilled to see this.

1.  That’s a good price for sprouts.

2.  Who wrote this sign? Blow-out and Brussel sprouts in the same sentence?! I guess it is accurate…some days.

I went to Dahl’s to purchase the sprouts. Then I ate them. They were delicious.

Look! It’s an empty sprout bag. If you look closely, you may be able to read “serves 4” on the bag. The bag lies. It was a single serving. I know this because I am one, single person — and I ate the whole bag.

Now, I must wait to see if the advertising was correct. Did I really consume “blow-out sprouts?” Only time will tell.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ode to Sprouts

  1. Meredith says:

    Wow. Just wow.

  2. Sara says:

    I wish I had read this posting before I got to work, because now I’m stuck at work and all I can think about is going to Dahl’s to get cheap sprouts before they’re gone. I have a feeling it’ll be too late after work tonight. I LOVE that you love sprouts as much as me, Laura. You might love them more, actually, because I usually add a protein with my sprouts to make a meal, but only at James’ request.

Leave a Reply

