A Huntin’ We Will Go…

Mushroom hunting, that is! I hunted mushrooms for the very first time tonight!

I had lofty goals of wearing camouflage to “hunt” the mushrooms, but I didn’t follow through on that idea. Perhaps next time I’ll dress for the occasion.

I did say, “be vewwy vewwy quiet, we’re hunting mushwooms.” I said that several times. That was fun. I’ve always thought life would be more interesting if I quoted Elmer Fudd more.

The hunt was partially successful. John and I found a grand total of three mushrooms. Ok, John found three mushrooms. He let me participate in the thrill of the hunt by saying, “there’s a mushroom in this area — do you see it?” And, after about 2-3 minutes of squinting at the ground, I’d “find” the morel.

It was a good time. I think I like hunting for mushrooms. Maybe I’ll really find a mushroom someday.

The downside of mushroom hunting:  MASSIVE quantities of ticks. I probably had 20-30 ticks crawling on my clothes this evening. I told my mom to serve limes (preferably with a nice mixed drink) at my funeral if I die of Lyme disease. Shockingly, she didn’t see the humor in that.

We ate our mushroom crop too quickly to get pictures. Our crop may have looked small, but it tasted big! Seriously — morels may be the best food ever! Ok…perhaps second…right after Brussels sprouts. They have my heart.

John also decided to give my wheat grass crop a trim tonight. Then, we decided to eat the trimmings. He pulverized the wheat grass in my mini food processor. It didn’t really pulverize that well.

The taste was…well…grassy. However, I can now cross “eat grass” off my bucket list. And, the chunk of wheat grass I consumed probably added about ten years to my life. And it will probably cure my Lyme disease.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Huntin’ We Will Go…

  1. Carolyn says:

    What a beautiful night to be outside hunting! 🙂

  2. Meredith says:

    I’m glad the wheat grass’ haircut was explained; I noticed. Also, I would like to take credit for the removal of two ticks. Perhaps we should have taken THEIR picture.

  3. Angie says:

    I think you should go the opposite of camouflage when hunting. Sure the mushrooms will see you coming, but so will other hunters who might mistake you for a deer or a pheasant. It’s a good thing Meredith is there for tick removal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

