Sandbox Playtime!

I was all bitter at this blog for a few hours. I thought it had turned against me and had eaten my post from yesterday. I had vague recollections of the sheer brilliance of the blog post I crafted yesterday, and I was filled with insta-rage (ok…maybe not rage…insta-bitterness).

How dare my blog eat my post! What if Shakespeare’s computer had eaten Romeo and Juliet? What would the world be like? This was clearly a similar situation.

Wait…have no fear! I think the mistake may have been operator error. Silly me.

During my roadtrip this weekend, I listened to Carol Burnett’s book I’m So Glad We Had This Time Together.

It was like Carol read me a nice, long story while I drove. It was delightful.

(Look! A curtain dress! It’s like shoulder pads on steroids.)

I took piano lessons from second grade through my senior year of high school. My piano teacher used to tell me I’d be the next Carol Burnett. She wasn’t actually comparing my musical skills to Carol Burnett’s — I’m pretty sure she was referencing my habit of “masking” my failure to practice the piano with random stories and bad jokes.

Note:  no one else has compared me to Carol Burnett. It was an isolated comparison. Regardless, I have an extra-warm fuzzy for Carol.

The audio book was fabulous! I laughed, I cried…all that good stuff.

I really, really liked her description of how she met Beverly Sills, an opera singer. Carol sent Beverly a note asking if she wanted to play in the sandbox with her! Obviously, Beverly accepted the invite. Really…who wouldn’t want to play in the sandbox with Carol Burnett?!

I love the concept of inviting others to play in the sandbox. It’s so much more fun than an invite for dinner or drinks. Playing in the sandbox triggers wonderful memories — mooshing the sand between your fingers and creating lovely castles and moats…tilting  your head back and feeling the warm sun on the sand.

So, I resolve to spend more time “playing in the sandbox” this spring and summer. It will involve many of my favorite things:  sun, dirt, and music. And I’ll totally extend an invite for anyone who wants to play!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sandbox Playtime!

  1. Meredith says:

    Hooray for the sandbox! I want to build a castle. Or bury someone in the sand. I nominate John.

  2. Sara says:

    I used to build the coolest moats to protect my castles. I’d like them with garbage bags to the water wouldn’t soak in too fast.

  3. Stacey says:

    “I saw it in the window, and I just couldn’t resist!” Just thought of that sketch (Went with the Wind) yesterday because Gone with the Wind was on!!

Leave a Reply

