A New Friend

I have a new friend.

I shouldn’t be trusted with small children or animals. But I think I can be trusted with sock puppets. This sock puppet is extra special because it’s a grub sock puppet. Who wouldn’t want a grub sock puppet? In fact, I’m wondering how I lived 28 years without a grub sock puppet.

Here’s the story behind my new grub sock puppet friend:

While I was traveling the contiguous United States last week, I asked my handy-dandy boyfriend, John, to get my mail and water Julius (my orange tree). During a mid-week phone call, John said he’d been cleaning his room. I asked if he’d gotten rid of his extensive collection of socks without mates. The conversation went something like this:

John:  “You want my socks without mates?”

Me:  “No. I don’t want your socks. I wanted to know if you got rid of your socks.”

John:  “If you want my socks, you can have them. I’ll take them to your house.”

Me:  “No! I don’t want your socks! The only way I’ll consider taking your socks is if you make them into sock puppets.” [I was totally kidding. I should have known better.]

John:  “They can be worm sock puppets.”

Me:  “Oh, no. They need to be decorated puppets –they can’t just be worm puppets without decorations.”

John:  “I’ll make you a grub sock puppet.”

An email arrived shortly after that statement with the following picture:

And…upon my return to Iowa, I was greeted by my very own grub sock puppet. I have to admit, the little fella bears a striking resemblance to the above photo. He even has little grub feet made from twist ties and elbow macaroni:

I’m not sure how the grub feels about the fact that his feet are elbow macaroni. This may cause some body part confusion in his little grub life.

I spotted a seafood restaurant near Savannah called Marlon Monroe’s Restaurant. I found this hysterically funny. So much so that I named my grub friend Marlon Monroe. He’s very Hollywood-esque. For a grub.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Friend

  1. Meredith says:

    1) It still grosses me out.
    2) Kudos on using the b-word. I don’t think I’ve ever heard that one from you before.
    3) Glad our grubby friend got a name.

  2. Angie says:

    I’m impressed. This is a very well designed sock puppet. And a friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

