What Was I Thinking?

I have a problem.  When I see a camera, I do strange things. Then I see the pictures. And the pictures are not attractive. Future generations will probably laugh. Or, they may just be embarrassed on my behalf.

You’d think I’d learn. For example, this is a picture from last year’s vacation:

I saw a toilet by the side of the road in Hawaii. At the time, the photo seemed like such a good idea. I even used it as my Facebook profile picture after I returned from Hawaii. Then someone told my mom they’d seen a picture of me sitting on a toilet by the side of the road. My mom got concerned.

One year later, the toilet picture has lost some of its humor. Well…truth is, the roadside potty still cracks me up — I’ve just realized that I look slighty “special” in the photo.

Despite this realization, my recent vacation pictures are a repeat performance. Because I have no shame, I’ll share some of my vacation moments captured in photos:

We went on a walking ghost tour. I got scared. Or, I wanted to vomit. Take your pick.

I was trying not to get hit by falling taffy. I have no idea why other shoppers didn’t follow my lead. Taffy is dangerous. Especially when it travels at high speeds.

This is a statue at the World of Coke in Hotlanta. My head fit in his armpit. It’s like a new-age frame. When I posed for this, it seemed like a potential Christmas card photo. I’m currently re-thinking that idea.

Maybe next year I’ll smile for the camera and keep my head out of statue’s armpits. Maybe.

Vacationing is all sorts of fun, but I have yet to find a restaurant that serves Brussels sprouts by the bushel. Because of this, I suffered sprout withdrawal during my week of traveling. My traveling companions were probably thankful, since they were trapped in a car with me for many, many hours.

Tonight I was reunited with my sprouts. It was nice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Was I Thinking?

  1. Meredith says:

    I like that I was the photographer on ALL of your Georgia pictures. Clearly, I am an excellent awkward-picture-taker. Yes!

  2. Stacey says:

    But exactly what are you supposed to do if you must watch for falling taffy? It’s like trains…that can come out of nowhere…

  3. Steven says:

    Don’t feel bad. Carolyn is a professional at surprised/scared photos.

  4. Angie says:

    There are totally hundreds of good picture of you. I love the fun ones where you are scared of ghosts and taffy! Maybe you should show your mom your pictures so she doesn’t learn about them on the street. I’m sure that would make her less concerned.

Leave a Reply

