Tree Update

Recent blog posts have featured my new orange tree. I really like the tree and wanted to give it a name. My suggestion was Trader Joe. My mom thought this was a stupid name. (She probably didn’t use the term stupid, but it was implied.)

My mom suggested the name Simpson (as in O.J.). I thought this was better than Trader Joe, so I obliged.

However…the little tree didn’t seem to bond with its name. I’d call out “Simpson!” and it didn’t even shake a leaf. That’s not a good sign.

Then, my brilliant friend Stacey suggested the name Julius (as in Orange Julius). The tree LOVED that name. I called out “Julius!” and the tree wet its container from the excitement and joy of the name. (Ok…I may have watered the tree while I tested out the name…but still.)

I asked Stacey to be Julius’ godmother. If something happens to me, she’d be responsible for raising young Julius in a stimulating, citrus-y environment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tree Update

  1. Stacey says:

    So happy the name fits!

  2. Meredith says:

    I’m a little hurt not to be named godmother, but Stacey is probably more qualified. Julius is a good name; it would be worth 13 points in Scrabble. Julius Jontz would be worth 34, which is awesome.

Leave a Reply

