House Tree

My little orange tree has a home now.

My tree also has a name. I was discussing tree names with my mom (who may slowly be realizing that baby trees are the only thing I’ll be naming for a long time), and she had a pretty darn good name idea.

It’s a self-fertilizing tree, so I thought the name should be gender-neutral. I don’t want to force my little orange tree into one gender — I’m a new-age tree parent.

My tree’s name is Simpson. You know…like O.J. Simpson. It amused me. Not that it takes much to amuse me.

In three years, everyone can come over to my house for an orange party. Save the date!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to House Tree

  1. Carolyn says:

    Yay! It looks great! 🙂 I’m so glad you like it!!!

  2. Stacey says:

    What about Julius (as in Orange Julius)?

    • bloglette says:

      Stacey! You are a brilliant, brilliant person!

      I just discussed the name with my new tree friend, and it LOVED Julius (and only liked Simpson). In Iowa, I believe you can change a baby’s name on a birth certificate without filing and paying for a formal name change.

      It’s official. The current members of my household are: me, Meredith, and Julius.

Leave a Reply

