Holiday Snob

Today was President’s Day. But, what’s President’s Day, really? It’s just the day the country observes the birthdays of a bunch of presidents.

President’s Day is like imitation vanilla extract. It’s still good, but it leaves you with that slight “I didn’t get the real thing” feeling.

I occasionally purchase imitation vanilla, but it kind of weirds me out. I also occasionally observe President’s Day. Just not this year.

This year I’m opting for the real thing. I worked on President’s Day, and I’m taking Washington’s birthday off. I don’t even take my own birthday off work. (George — you should feel pretty special.)

I’m not really sure how one properly celebrates George Washington’s birthday. I have one piece of my mom’s frozen “salad” (see earlier post on said “salad”) left. It has cherries in it, so it seems George Washington-esque.

I also plan to attend a morning kickboxing class. I’d like to figure out a way to compare kickboxing to crossing the Delaware, but I can’t.

My afternoon may include working on my wooden door that is (slowly) turning into a headboard (maybe). George Washington had wooden teeth. I have a wooden door. The similarities are uncanny.

I declare tomorrow to be “The Day of George.” There will be cherries, a wooden door, and no lies. And I’ll put pure vanilla extract in my morning oats. None of that imitation crap.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Snob

  1. Meredith says:

    I think George would approve of your celebrations. I also think at some point today you need to sing to him, since that’s your usual MO of celebrating birthdays.

    Sidebar: imitation vanilla extract is soooooo much cheaper. But it’s probably just chemicals. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

