Sweden or Bust!

I’m just finishing The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo series by Stieg Larsson.

It’s set in Sweden. Most would describe the story as an adventure/drama about a girl and a journalist seeking justice and plotting to uncover secrets of the Swedish government. I’d classify it as a coffee adventure. Seriously — the characters “put on coffee” every two pages! It’s awesome! Their lives are spent wandering from one coffee pot to another.

My roommate, a non-coffee drinker, didn’t pick up on the reoccurring coffee theme until I pointed it out. However, she did agree with me. Those Swedish people love their coffee. This could explain why the characters are able to accomplish so much.

In other news, my breakfast for the past several years has been oatmeal and coffee. It’s fabulous. None better. Anyway, I was out of oatmeal for the past few days, but I had bread for toast. This was acceptable. However, I kept seeing a Quaker Oat commercial with Bob Harper of The Biggest Loser. Every morning, Bob would tell me to eat oats. He’d remind me that oats are the best way to start my day.

I felt very guilty. I ran to Trader Joe’s to buy oats (figuratively, not literally). And, as much as I love Trader Joe’s, I have to admit Quaker Oats are better.

Thanks, Bob.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweden or Bust!

  1. Sara says:

    I LOVED the Dragon Tatoo series, and I too noticed all the coffee. I like coffee that much too, maybe because I’m Norweigan (it’s not Swedish, but it’s close). What kind of coffee do you make Laura? Are you particular about your bean?

    • bloglette says:

      Sara…I could discuss coffee and brussels sprouts with you for hours! (I’m serious!) I try to buy only fair trade beans — Trader Joe’s has a great sumatra. Meredith’s mom got me the best coffee grinder in the world for Christmas, so I’m all about whole beans.

Leave a Reply

