Oh! Maha!

I traveled to Omaha this weekend. It was so much fun, I’ve decided the city needs a slightly more exciting spelling. Perhaps it’ll catch on with others.

The highlight of the trip was either (1) seeing not one…not two…but THREE old college friends, or (2) getting free mojitos at a delightful little Cuban restaurant.

The low point of the trip was getting punk’d by Garmin. One of my very best college buddies and her husband moved to the depths of suburbia near Omaha. Trees are in extremely scarce supply. My travel companions (two other college friends) and I plugged the address into Garmin and headed off into the treeless wonderland.

We plugged in the correct address, but apparently Garmin decided we’d like to visit another home. We didn’t question Garmin’s decision at first. When the little GPS told use we’d “arrived at our destination,” we got out of the car and walked up to the door.

As we walked up to the door, we noticed the only vehicle in the driveway was a truck with a Harley-Davidson sticker in the back window. Now, these friends are about as likely to have a Harley as I am…but, I trusted Garmin. Too much.

We walked up to the house and raised a fist to knock on the door. We then noticed the screen door had been ripped out of the door frame. My friends are not violent people and certainly wouldn’t take any aggression out on the screen door. At this point, we put all the clues together and determined we may have arrived at the wrong address. We went back to the car and compared the Garmin address with the actual address that had been scrawled on a scrap of paper. The two addresses didn’t match. And, the family at the wrong address was looking at us from their front window.

We did make it to the right house…eventually. As we suspected, they hadn’t developed a sudden love for Harleys OR a sudden dislike for screen doors.

These friends have a 3 1/2-year-old son who is probably the smartest kid in the treeless suburban area. We played a super fun (and very educational) game. My game piece was Alpha Pig. Because Alpha Pig is a highly attractive female swine, I’ve decided to take it on as my alter ego. From now on, I shall be Laura, a/k/a Alpha Pig. This new alter ego is especially true given my eating habits.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh! Maha!

  1. Meredith says:

    Hmm…Alpha Pig? You crack me up. I like Oh!Maha! although I’m also a fan of Omahahaha, as you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

