The Story Behind the Fly

My mom isn’t a big fan of the picture at the top of my blog. Not everyone appreciates a fly with mad swimming skills.

I did appreciate the fly. So much so that I took his (or her) picture.

I had just poured my evening pot of coffee (note I said pot, not cup…I have big mugs) and left my desk for some reason. I returned to my desk and saw the fly. My roommate had gone to bed, and it didn’t seem important enough to wake her, so I captured the moment with my camera. I also shouted, “waiter, there’s a fly in my coffee!” because, really, there may never be another moment in my life when I can truthfully say that.

I debated fishing the fly out of the mug and drinking the coffee. But I didn’t. I actually determined I was a little envious of the fly. Assuming the fly was elderly and lived a nice long fly life, ending it all in my lukewarm mug of freshly ground coffee seemed like a nice exit.

Overall, I think the picture encompasses a lot of stuff (some might say 1,000 words). There’s the humor of a fly landing in coffee (a soup-like substance); the satisfaction of getting to yell, “waiter, there’s a fly in my coffee;” and the hope that when my time is up, I can go out like the fly and spend eternity floating around in coffee. Just the thought is enough to make me smile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

